Organized Arguments

Arguing is difficult, that is, arguing well is difficult. Anyone can sit down with someone and blatantly disagree with them to a point where their argument becomes repetitive and invalid; to establish a well-formatted argument, the arguer needs to have some type of system in order to convince and persuade their audience. A system such as the Toulmin Method is necessary in order for the arguer to keep their argument confined to a central point and then on track throughout their entire work (whether a speech, paper, or conversational argument). In the Toulmin Method, the arguer is guided to present a point, reasoning to defend that point, and then even more reasoning to defend why that point is factual. Without a method such as this, an argument becomes weak and unable to defend a point; when this happens, the arguer becomes more similar to people who repeat their opinion until it becomes invalid.

As we are beginning to write this persuasive essay, I have struggled to find a topic that I think meets the standards at which I want to think and write. After contemplating about controversial topics (but not too controversial), I settled on a leading question: “Is morality without religion in vain?” In other words, can people still be moral if they lack a religious aspect guiding their life and their decisions? At first, I was confident that morality was dependent on a religious standpoint, but, that depends on how you view morality. As I have thought about my topic more, I have realized that the world has evolved and changed– whether that be within politics, economics, or even the general hierarchy of social status– into a new place where morals can become a tricky subject. I do not know what my paper will turn out to be, nor do I know who will agree and/or disagree with me; above agreement/disagreement, however, I just want to get people thinking. With this paper, as I strive with all my papers, I want to spark discussion and deeper thought into the question, not only for my readers, but for myself.

In order to make my paper be as efficient and clear as possible, I will likely focus on evidence based around the idea of pathos. Oftentimes when I write, I focus on pathos because I like to make my audience feel something and have something to relate to their own life. With this paper specifically, pathos will help persuade people by giving them an idea to relate to and think about in their own life. Hopefully, religious people and nonreligious people alike will question what their morality is based on, whether it be some holy book, some tradition, or even the pressuring of modern society.

Leave a comment